Ladies, Carpe Diem!

Ladies, it means “seize the day”.

In most circumstances, the perfect day will not just fall into your lap. (There are a few select days on the calendar when the stars seem to align, but these are beautiful and amazing and ultimately rare to find) More times than not, good opportunities open themselves to those who work hard and keep their eyes peeled.

Today I had the pleasure of hanging out with a friend from high school. Haven’t gotten to see my home girl in a while, and we had a great time catching up on each other’s lives. One of the exciting things that I got to share with her was this:

I approached a cute guy in one of my classes.

This type of behavior is highly uncharacteristic of me. If you were to ask anyone to describe me, they would most likely describe me as: shy, bookworm, or not so hot with the guys. YET, I managed to give a guy my number! How did I do it? Simple: I just did it. Ok, not so simple. I actually wrestled with the idea for a while prior to doing it, and required much encouragement from my uncle that it was the right thing to do. It was also very difficult considering all the females I consulted on the matter told me that the guy should always make the first move.

Let me be the girl to tell you that they are wrong! Do not listen to the nay-sayers! If women can hold the same jobs as men, rule countries, and be strong advocates for what they believe in, it makes no sense that women cannot make the first move.

As for my certain situation, despite my nerves, things went well! He said yes and later got in touch with me and we hung out. Overall, it was a very positive and confidence building experience.

I would encourage all women I know to approach that cutie they’ve been eyeing. The worse that he can say is no, and if he does he is missing out on one amazing lady. If you have enough guts to approach someone, then that makes you a pretty special person. It shows this guy, whether he is interested or not, that you are confident enough in your own skin to put yourself out there. And confidence is always a note-worthy quality.

Also, if he happens to say no, don’t get negative on yourself. It’s easy to think thoughts like, “He’s way too cool for me anyways” or “He’s out of my league”. These thoughts are like nasty cockroaches, try to squash them immediately! The other day I actually read a great article discussing this: http://www.huffingtonpost.com/alexis-dent/stop-saying-he-or-she-is-out-of-your-league_b_5022104.html

Have you ever approached a guy you were interested in? Share your stories below!

This entry was posted in Challenges and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Penny For Your Thoughts?

