Instant Results or Little Victories?

Many of us have high expectations for ourselves and life. I’m definitely someone who is like that. And most of the time, this is good! It leads you to aim high and push yourself to greater heights. But when it leads to putting strenuous stress on yourself, it’s no longer healthy.

Sometimes we have to settle for the little victories.

I went through a period of weight loss and am now working on gaining that weight back. It’s a slow process, and requires a lot of action on my part. I need to be more conscious about how often and how much I eat. When I’m deciding what to eat, I’ll usually pick the menu item with the highest or high amount of calories. I’ve also been going to the gym, to try and increase my muscle mass.

It’s unrealistic to expect instant results.

I weighed myself the other day and found that I had gained four pounds since I last weighed myself. I’m still considered underweight for my height, but I have gained pounds instead of lost.

That is a mini-victory and a step in the right direction.

I’m sure everyone can relate to this feeling. When you are working towards a goal, you want instantaneous results. We want our results, and we want them now!

But if you are able to lower your expectations and look at the situation from a different perspective, you will find plenty of pleasant surprises.

I could choose to be disappointed with the fact that I’m still underweight, or I can look at the positives. I’m conscious of my problems, and I’m taking action to remedy them. I’ve gained weight instead of lost. I’m less conscious about how thin I am.

It’s all in the baby steps. Don’t put too much pressure on yourself, and lower your standards. Instant results aren’t what they’re all cracked up to be. It’s the journey that makes it all worth it.

This entry was posted in Acceptance, Coping with Anxiety and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Penny For Your Thoughts?

