Why Thank You, I Am A Prude

The other day I was hanging out with some girls, and one of them teased me saying, “Come on, don’t be such a prude”.

And I answered her, “Why thank you, I am a prude”.

The truth is, most girls and guys would consider me a prude. I don’t wear ankle-length skirts every day or gasp at revealed bra straps, but I don’t wear super tight/short/revealing clothing either. I don’t drink alcohol or do drugs, and I also believe in saving sex until marriage.

To be honest, all of my outfits are “dad-approved”. Since I still live at home, this is pretty easy to do. If I’m wearing something that is questionable, my dad will let me know and I’ll modify my outfit. He doesn’t force me to change, it’s my own choice after knowing that he’s worried about me. If someone that I care about lets me know that something looks inappropriate, I take it into consideration. This person knows me and truly cares about my well-being. Since he is a person I have looked up to for years, and I trust his judgment, I trust that I am making the right decision.

Because the truth is, people really do judge your character based on what you wear.

It isn’t right that people make judgments on what type of clothing you wear, the length of your skirt or how revealing your top is. But people do it anyway.

One day I was walking around campus and I saw a poster that particularly struck a chord with me. It said something along the lines of “There is nothing particularly liberating about showing skin or covering up”.

I really liked that.

When it comes down to it, what you wear is a personal choice. It’s no one else’s business, and we shouldn’t label other people “whores” or “prudes” based on their clothing choices.

I know that I’m guilty of looking at girls’ outfits sometimes and thinking Is she really wearing THAT?

But the truth is, I know people will also laugh at my outfits or think that I’m ridiculous for being conservative.

Since what other people wear doesn’t directly affect us, we shouldn’t worry our little minds about it.

Challenge: notice your instant judgments about people’s clothing choices next time. What are you thinking about their outfit? Why do you feel entitled to judge this person based on simply their clothes? Try and pause for a moment to police your thoughts.

This entry was posted in Challenges and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Penny For Your Thoughts?

