Guilty Pleasures Soothe An Anxious Mind

Whenever I’m in one of my bad moods, I turn to manga. For those of you readers who do not know what manga is, here is a definition (courtesy of Google)manga definition

Manga has the ability to make me laugh, cry, or feel giddy girly happiness. (Of course, I typically read romance manga, I stay away from scary stuff). And when I say laugh, I really mean laugh out loud. Depending on what I’m reading I will giggle, snort, or scoff at the sheer ridiculousness of the situation. Sometimes I also make comments to myself. I really get into stuff when I’m reading, doesn’t matter if I’m in public.

I really admire manga for its ability to distract and drag my mind out of the depths of Anxiety.

And just so you know, I also enjoying reading normal novels. Manga usually can cheer me up instantaneously though, because of the light subject matter and the funny drawings. I just love the type of humor that is incorporated in its pages.

Since I’ve discovered that manga can often dispel any bad mood, I use it as a tool to keep my Anxiety at bay. Of course, I can’t read manga all day. But usually if I’m having a bad morning, reading a couple chapters or volumes (depending on how much time I have) really helps me feel better and focus on upcoming tasks.

So manga is my guilty pleasure, reader what’s yours?

If you also deal with Anxiety, what are your coping strategies for your bad days?

This entry was posted in Anxiety, Coping with Anxiety and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Guilty Pleasures Soothe An Anxious Mind

  1. potatofag says:

    Manga is so damn awesome! What are some of the manga you read? I read naruto, one piece, fairy tail, yaoi 😉 They aren’t light hearted but they are motivating for me because I have been reading naruto since I was 11. I have anxiety issues which was so bad that I could not leave the house 2 months ago. Now, I make myself go out everyday. I could not go to school previously due to panic attacks. So I changed to a more suitable school for me and finally my life is on track again. I cope with anxiety by thinking positively and reading books. Check out my blog meowthemiao.wordpress.com where I write to live. Have a nice day! 😉

    • Hey there 🙂 Thanks for taking the time to visit my blog and comment! I really appreciate it. I read mostly shoujo manga, so some of my favorites are: Love Complex, Special A, Beauty Pop… Yesterday I just read MeruPuri as a quick read (whole series is 4 volumes). I’m happy to hear that you are in better control of your Anxiety now, feel proud of yourself! Your comment actually inspired me to write a new post this morning, if you have time feel free to check it out: https://holdmethrillmekissme.wordpress.com/2014/07/12/looking-back-at-who-i-was/

      I also enjoyed reading through your blog, will make sure to keep an eye on it 🙂

Penny For Your Thoughts?

