Note to Self: Breathe!

Do you ever have moments where your emotions take a complete nosedive? One moment you’re content with life, the next second you’re feeling horrible, and you can’t explain why.

I find that, with my Anxiety, this happens quite frequently.

I used to get swallowed up by random bouts of depression like this. But I’ve since decided that it is neither healthy nor productive for me to get stuck in these slumps.

As I’ve mentioned in a previous post, reading manga is one of the ways that I distract my mind to think of happier thoughts. I also find that playing guitar is helpful. I also feel really great after a workout.

It can be very easy to become discouraged or despondent when one is continually searching for short fixes to lift your mood.

But I just need to realize that my sad feelings are a result of anxious thoughts, both conscious and subconscious. Most of the time, having these thoughts are out of my control. It’s often second nature for me to overthink things or feel overly attached.

However, even though I cannot control whether I have anxious thoughts or not, I can control the severity of their impact on me. I can ask myself questions to get perspective, or frame the subject in a different way. My therapist has often reminded me that everyone has different ways of looking at problems. While I may feel like I am the victim and the other person is a villain, this person may feel like the roles are actually switched.

Thinking of things in this way does not entirely remove the problem, but it does help alleviate some of my stress.

I now realize the importance of removing oneself from the situation in order to think. When one takes everything personally, it often zaps unnecessary energy. If you are able to detach yourself and look at the situation objectively, the whole ordeal is almost painless.

Breathe in. Breathe out. Remove yourself from the situation and clear your mind. Don’t overcomplicate things if you do not need to.

This entry was posted in Anxiety, Coping with Anxiety and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Note to Self: Breathe!

  1. regina5000 says:

    You´re right. I know a lot of people that overcomplicate things when they don´t need to.

Penny For Your Thoughts?

