Fact vs. Fiction

If you’re at all familiar with Anxiety, you know that sometimes your mind can get away from you. Sometimes my mind will come up with horrible imagined situations. These different situations will often put a toll on my mood, but I’m trying to be more mindful and aware of them. Why should I let something affect me if it isn’t even real?

I’ve realized that a lot of these imagined situations actually show my hidden fears or insecurities. I fear being put in situations where I’m unable to protect myself, and often fear rejection. I fear failure.

When I imagine these situations, I guess my mind is trying to come up with ways to react to these hypothetical situations so I am prepared in case they ever would happen.

But you cannot prepare for everything.

When I imagine these situations, it’s easy to become upset without first realizing that it is just a product of my imagination. When I do realize what my mind is doing, I try to distract myself. Distractions only help so far though. For now, I’m trying to remind myself that these ideas are not real. And then I try to think of something relaxing, like waves at the beach.

I also try to give myself a reality check. Afraid of being sexually harassed? Avoid putting yourself in dangerous situations. If you’re going to an unfamiliar place, go with a friend, or better yet a group. Afraid that you’ll die alone? You’re young, you still have your whole life ahead of you. Afraid of failing at something? Just another opportunity to get up and do better the second time.

If you suffer from Anxiety, do you have any tips on practicing mindfulness?

This entry was posted in Anxiety, Coping with Anxiety and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Penny For Your Thoughts?

