Listening to Your Body

A lot of people overeat when they are stressed. However, it is common for people with Anxiety to do exactly the opposite. If I’m stressed or preoccupied with a lot of things, I might not feel like eating or just forget entirely.

How does someone just forget to eat?

It happens. If you have a habit of ignoring your stomach, your stomach stops giving your body signals that it is hungry. Or you might just be postponing food because you feel like other things are more important.

But here’s the thing, there are very few things that are more important than eating. Eating well gives your body nutrients, and enables you to be more productive in the long run. Postponing eating to finish an assignment lets you finish faster in the short term, but were those twenty minutes really that valuable? No matter what you are working on, you should always make time for nourishing your body.

In the past, I had a habit of ignoring my body. I wouldn’t eat because I felt like other things were more important. And because I wasn’t eating, I would get headaches, feel faint, or feel stomach pain. One day I momentarily blacked out, I couldn’t see anything and had to grip the chair in front of me to keep from falling. At that point I realized, something is seriously wrong.

Since then, I’ve made large improvements. I’ve made a regular habit of going to the gym, and even found that I gained four pounds! I now eat at least three times a day if not more. I listen to my body and don’t ignore these symptoms anymore.

That’s not to say that there still aren’t struggles. I still have occasional panic attacks, and moments where I push off dinner for an hour or two.

But the important thing is that I am managing. I calm myself down when I have these bouts of Anxiety, I go to the kitchen and make myself dinner. And you can do it too!

Readers, what are your experiences with Anxiety? What are some examples of coping strategies that you use?

This entry was posted in Anxiety, Coping with Anxiety and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Penny For Your Thoughts?

