Past Regrets About Nothing

One of the things about Anxiety is that I regret a lot of things from my past. These things are often inconsequential, and may have happened ten or more years ago. But my brain has since made connections associating certain objects with certain memories, and these regrets still happen to pop up.

So why don’t I just tell my brain to stop? Doesn’t quite work that way. Being aware of what my brain is doing is already a minor achievement in itself. Ironically, the more you try to “stop” the thoughts, the more they plague you.

I think the best thing that I can do is to put the thoughts in context. If I was to write them down on a piece of paper and see if they really matter, will they? Probably not. Does this thing affect me now present day? Does it affect anyone else?

The next time that specific thought pops up, I can remind myself that these worries really don’t affect me at all. And hopefully, reminding myself of these facts will keep these thoughts at bay. I won’t have to worry about them anymore because I have already proven to myself that they don’t matter!

Just giving myself another reality check, so I can descend from the clouds of Anxiety. Another thing that I do to relax is play guitar, you can listen to my acoustic covers here.

I hope you are all having a fabulous day 🙂

 

This entry was posted in Anxiety, Coping with Anxiety and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Penny For Your Thoughts?

