Self Fulfilling Prophecy

In my Sociology class, we’ve been talking about financial crises. What basically happens is investors get spooked by signs of instability that are unrelated to the economy (perhaps a political assassination), and because they are worried a crisis will happen they pull out all their money, thus CAUSING a crisis to happen.

A similar thing happened to me this morning.

Yesterday morning, I slept past my alarm and ended up being late for class. This morning I was determined not to do that. As a result, my sleep was not at all restful. I tossed and turned, and had several dreams about my day going horribly.

Why did I do that to myself? I just wasted a whole night of sleep.

Now, I’m just feeling tired and looking worse off than before. So much for beauty sleep.

It’s going to be a struggle to stay awake today. Gotta get moving and get the blood pumping.

If I had simply slept and not worried, I most likely still would’ve woken up to the alarm. Nothing I can do now, except listen to some energetic music and slap a smile on my face.

Have you ever had a similar experience where you caused your misfortunes?

EDIT: Re-reading this later, and I realize I sound like such a grumpy pants! Yuck! My apologies, dear readers. Wrote this right after I woke up and wasn’t feeling the most cheerful. In the end, everything worked out just fine. Didn’t fall asleep on the road, went to the hospital and got to spend my morning helping out people in the little ways that I can. I think what I’ve learned from this experience though is to set multiple alarms and then rest peacefully. If one fails, it seems less likely that one of the other ones will do the same. In the end, worrying only makes things worse! Hope you have also had good days ❤

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Self Fulfilling Prophecy

Penny For Your Thoughts?

