But She’s So…

I’m sure all of you have one, an amazingly hot gorgeous friend, that is. Every time she posts a bikini selfie at the beach I cringe. She’s just so perfect! Wish I had a body like that.

But of course, what’s wrong with the body that I have?

I’m too skinny, my breasts are small, I’m just really skinny…. And she’s so….

She’s muscular and tan and has huge boobs. She’s got model length legs and a flat stomach. She’s pretty hot.

But there’s a really big problem with this!

Why am I comparing myself to a completely different person? When you really think about it, it’s absurd.

We don’t have the same genes, so of course we are going to look different. We were raised in different families, dress different, have different circles of friends…. We actually have very little in common compared to all of the things that are different between us. Keeping all of these things in mind, it doesn’t make sense that I’m comparing myself to her at all.

It’d be like an elephant wanting to be a cat. Both are animals and walk on four legs. But they are so radically different, you can’t even compare them!

I can waste time feeling sorry for myself or constantly comparing myself to others, or I can choose to be confident. I can choose to make healthy decisions. I can choose to eat more and work out. Why choose to feel negative when there are so many other better options?

Readers, I hope that you also choose to try and stop comparing yourself to others. No matter what, there’s only one YOU. Don’t waste time trying to be someone else.

(AGHHHHH cheesy or what? Sorry but that was cheesier than Monterey Jack). 

This entry was posted in Acceptance and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to But She’s So…

  1. Beautifully written.

Penny For Your Thoughts?

