Valentines Day Ambush

There I was, standing in my Christmas themed bathrobe, hair disheveled, teeth unbrushed…

And there he was standing uninvited on my doorstep, perfectly groomed, holding a red bag for me. 

The first words out of my mouth were, “Why are you here?”

You see folks, it was Valentine’s Day and I was sick at home. I was so out of it that I didn’t even check to see who was at the door before I opened it. I didn’t bother making myself look presentable, because I felt horrible, and frankly, I didn’t think that I would see anyone that I needed to look special for. 

He seemed confused by my reaction and wasn’t sure what to do. He gave me the bag, and seemed like he wanted to be invited inside. At the time, I was thinking, “Where’s this guy’s manners? He just shows up to my house without telling me and wants to come inside? Showing up while I look like this???”

To him, this was a nice idea of a surprise. And telling the story to anyone else, most people also saw “AWWWWWWWW, what a sweet guy!”

But to me, I think the nice thing to do is to let the person know you’re coming over first. This gives the person to prepare themselves for whatever may arise!

And you know what else could happen to make this awkward situation even better?

My dad rolls up in the driveway, gets out of the car, and upon seeing us exclaims, “Hey, she dressed up for you!”

Thanks Dad.

So yeah, that was a memorable Valentine’s Day.

When my sister got asked out to Prom, I wanted to spare her the same humiliation. My kind warnings resulted in this. I just can’t win!

What are some of your most awkward Valentine’s Day stories?

This entry was posted in Love and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Penny For Your Thoughts?

