Passing Down Crazy Genes

It’s no secret that mental illness is often hereditary. I just about won the lottery when it comes to crazy genes. I won’t get into specifics, but I have many close family members that are dealing with some type of mental illness. (And I of course, am learning how to cope with Anxiety).

This often makes me worry about the future, and my own children. Will I pass on to them this toxic vat of poisonous crazy genes? 

I hate thinking that, but I have to wonder. With so many occurrences of it in my family, there seem to be pretty good odds.

But the thing is, it’s out of my hands. I can’t control the genes that I have, or whether these genes will show up in my children.

Even though my family’s pretty wacky, we deal with things relatively well most of the time. You go to therapy, you take medication, you change your habits. You create new thought patterns. You take things day by day.

Although I hope that my children will never have to deal with any kind of mental disorder (or physical for that matter!), I like to think that I would be able to empathize with them if they did. From my experiences in battling Anxiety, I hope that I would be able to understand their point of view and give them comfort in some way. I’d want to be able to have open discussions about their feelings, encourage them to go to therapy, and take medication if they really need it. I hope that I would able to be a strong pole of support for them.

There are certain things that are out of my control. But I can choose today what I want to be. I can choose what decisions I make, and how I move forward tomorrow. And I hope that I will be able to show this lesson to my kids, whether they inherit a mental disorder or not.

Don’t let your genes or mental disorder define you. You are more than just a disease, you are a fighter. You are a survivor. You are capable of so much more.

This entry was posted in Coping with Anxiety and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Passing Down Crazy Genes

  1. regina5000 says:

    I like your post. 😉

Penny For Your Thoughts?

