Empower Yourself

“Alright everybody, thanks for coming out. This is going to be the last song, ‘Goodbye My Lover’ by James Blunt”.

The large group of family and friends that came out to support me clap and cheer. Regulars that frequent the restaurant also smile or give me a nod of encouragement. A man sits on a bench on the street listening to my performance and claps along with the rest.

I find it so empowering to know that I can garner people’s attention like this. That someone is willing to spend their evening sitting on a park bench in the middle of town just to hear me sing.

I mean, how awesome is that?

Not to mention, people actually gave me tips. I thought that I would make five dollars at the most, but I actually made forty dollars in the span of two hours. I’m not familiar with how much other more experienced performers make, but gaining forty dollars for doing something that I love isn’t bad at all.

There are some things that can be improved for next time’s performance. Mainly, not rushing between songs, announcing titles more clearly into the microphone, and turning the volume on my amp just a tad bit up. But overall I feel happy with my performance. I watched the videos that my dad took on his cellphone, and I was pleased watching myself. I look happy, content, relaxed. I sound great!

Next time I’m going to bring more music with me as well to avoid replaying tunes. But I think not rushing in between songs will remedy that.

For now, I have confidence in my talent and ability to do this again!

I feel like this experience has made me more confident in myself in general. At the family party I attended over the weekend, I felt alienated because I was one of the few white people there. Yes, I’m half Filipino. But to everyone else, I’m white. I’m tall, pale, and different. I didn’t feel comfortable at this gathering because my family’s friends are not the most friendly. When they turned on the music and everyone started dancing, I felt like I wouldn’t belong there on the dance floor. But I told myself, “You were able to perform in front of people and do an audition on the spot! You can do this!” And I did. And I had a great time. Don’t psyche yourself out or let other people make you feel uncomfortable. You can belong anywhere, as long as you have the confidence and poise to prove yourself.

So yeah, feeling empowered and awesome!

Readers, what are some empowering experiences that you have had?

This entry was posted in Acceptance and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Penny For Your Thoughts?

