Why I Want to Be A Nurse

A couple weeks ago, I wiped a woman’s butt for the first time. 

Now before you readers freak out, I was volunteering at the hospital and assisting a healthcare worker in changing a patient’s diaper.

To be completely honest, it’s not as bad as you think it would be. I would say that the smell is probably the worst of it. But the truth is, helping someone with such a basic task gives you a sense of achievement. You really feel like you have been close with this person, because they are in such a vulnerable state. One of the reasons why I love nursing is that you get to help people when they are truly at their worst. 

Yes, being near human feces is gross. But it’s so much bigger than that. When you are doing these tasks, you get to focus on the big picture. This is a person, who deserves your utmost respect and care. And it is a privilege to be let into their world and be able to assist them in these small ways. No matter how small the task may seem, it is helping to improve their quality of life, or at least their day in general.

Now, I don’t want to act like I’m out saving the world just because I’m changing diapers.

But I truly feel awesome knowing that I can help change someone’s day for the better, even if it’s as simple as helping them meet their basic needs.

In the hospital, people struggle with all kinds of tasks that we often take for granted. For example, using the bathroom, taking a shower, changing your own clothes, or even being able to reach the telephone on the other side of the bed. I get to help these people with these small things and help them feel just a little more in control and comfortable in an unfamiliar environment.

No one likes staying in the hospital, but I take it upon myself to make sure their stay is as comfortable as I can make it.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Why I Want to Be A Nurse

  1. gpyrois says:

    Good for you, I wish you the best in your journey. Awesome

  2. braixetta says:

    Great. Was the person that you canged the daiper of an adult? Were they like never potty trained? Or were they elderly and couldn’t get out of bed so they needed you to wipe their bum? Well, that’s nice you have found what you wanna be. Good luck. 😉

    Good wishes,
    Braixetta~

  3. charlypriest says:

    Had to finally comment on this post, I think is great what your doing. My uncle passed away on the first of March of this year the strange coincidence is that it was the same date and same month of when my grandfather passed away quite some time ago. So maybe God works in some strange ways. Anyways, he´s last two months of life, (he died of Aids) he was very very week, and constantly we would be going in and out of the hospital, and you had to make him his food, help him stand up and wash him in the bath tup so he wouldn´t slip and fall, he sometimes urinated on himself because he had no strength to get out of bed and go to the bathroom so in the middle of the night,we told him not to be ashamed that I myself peed even in weirder places like in cars,(he knew I was talking when I got drunk) and always with precaution using gloves but constantly talking to him about some other thing like “common uncle I was having this dream of a sexy girl and you woke me up” that way he wouldn´t feel so selfconscious of me putting on the gloves and the rest, it´s always good to keep a sense of humour, runs in the family I guess because we joked about those little incidents, keeps morale up. So we, me and my mother, would clean him. Things got even worst obviously and his final 15 days of life where in the hospital and me and my mother rotating each other staying with him 24 hours me, next to his bed sitting in a uncomfortable chair or walking the halls of the hospital and then she would take the other 24 hours. He went into comma at 10 a.m, he was insulated so you actually had to walk inside that room with a vest and a mask on, one of the worst and good things it has happen in my life, since he saw the face of his loved ones up until the very end. And never mind that I myself almost died about 2 years ago, entered into the hospital in “shock” which as you know is the last step before going into a comma. So the reason that I´m telling you this, is that apart from having written about it so is nothing to hide, if it wasn´t for the doctors and specially the nurses who are there on a more constant basis with the patient or the people that they have to care for, the life of those people would be made even much more miserable. So good for you, it is rewarding also.

    • Wow. Thank you so much for sharing your story. It sounds like it was a very difficult time for him as well as your family. May he rest in peace. He was lucky to have such caring family members always around him. I think one of my favorite things about volunteering in the hospital is that people kind of let you into their family. Sometimes you get to know their names, likes and dislikes. Sometimes you don’t talk at all, simply because, or there might be a language barrier. But sometimes body language tells all. One time I was helping a family take care of their loved one, and the grandmother just kind of rubbed my back. I thought that was so sweet. The smallest things you do for someone, bringing them water, smiling, checking up on them really do mean a lot. Somehow you just get this good feeling when you do kind things for others and you see that they really appreciate it. Thanks again for sharing, stories like yours want me to be a nurse even more.

Penny For Your Thoughts?

