Dancing Cheek to Cheek

I went swing dancing for the first time tonight, and loved it. Swirling, twirling, laughing, sashaying across the floor… absolutely wonderful. Having a stranger come up to you and ask you to dance… flattering and exciting. Following this person’s lead and not knowing exactly what will happen next…

It really was the most fun I’ve had in a long time.

And I discovered something tonight. It doesn’t matter how much you know. One of my partners actually told me, “Well it looks like you’re having fun, so I’d say you’re doing it right.” Because I was smiling, laughing, and thoroughly enjoying myself, I had several partners. All you have to do is make yourself seem available, smile and have eye contact with people. If you stand off to the side and look like you don’t even want to be there, a guy isn’t going to approach you. He’s afraid that you’ll shoot him down. If you seem friendly, it’s encouraging to the guy no matter who he is.

I can’t wait to go again. I really hope that I will run into some of the same guys again. All of these guys were wonderful dancers! Really good leads, who moved you with force and control. You felt their body directing you where to go, their arms twirling you out and stopping you at the right moment, their feet prompting you to move your feet backwards.

Some other things that I learned today: bring a hair tie. Wear a shorter dress, and make sure to have spandex or shorts underneath. Some people also thought ahead and had hankies to wipe away sweat. You wouldn’t think so, but after dancing with several people back to back you really work up a sweat. What was so great, is that even though these guys are sweating up a storm, they are so graceful!

Looking forward to going again, it’s not what you know, it’s how much you’re willing to learn.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Dancing Cheek to Cheek

  1. regina5000 says:

    It´s cool to know that you had a really good time. 🙂 😀

  2. charlypriest says:

    And can you believe that in the early 1900´s swing dancing was considered a sin for some people…. hey, you had fun, you met guys and at the same time you don´t have to go to the gym. Can´t get any better. I hope all the girls become like you, making eye contact and with a smile on their face. That would make us men, much more happier. You should start making speeches about the subject.

    • Thanks! I don’t know, but eye contact and smiling seems really natural. How else are you going to talk to somebody? I always feel bad for guys because they have to put themselves out there all the time and face possible rejection. Don’t get me wrong, I’ve given my number to some guys and made the first move, but it’s more common for dudes to do that.

      It’s really funny how views change on things over time. I’m sure at some point in time, almost anything could be considered a sin.

Penny For Your Thoughts?

