Looking Out for Numero Uno

I often trap myself into doing things for others because I feel like someone is depending on me and it is my personal duty to help them.

But I really couldn’t be more wrong or more self-destructive.

Only when I honestly answer the question, “What do I want?” am I going to achieve happiness. It is better to do things with your own goals in mind, rather than trying to fulfill the standards of others. (Of course, there is also the other extreme in which you do nothing BUT think of yourself! Here I am suggesting a happy medium.)

I emailed my choir director this morning to inform him that I was not going to be a part of the group this year. Immediately after pressing send, I felt lighter. I had freed myself from participating in something that I didn’t want to do. I was able to communicate my feelings in an honest and respectful manner. I placed my needs and wants above someone else’s. And it feels good!

By releasing myself from this group, I give myself the chance to explore other opportunities. I wanted to try joining a swing dancing club. By joining a new club, I will meet new people, try new things, and ultimately grow more as a person through these new experiences.

Here’s to a new year with brand new experiences! Readers, I hope that you are also trying new things 🙂

This entry was posted in Acceptance and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Penny For Your Thoughts?

