Much Needed Motivation

Sometimes seeing someone near you gain success makes you jealous, other times it motivates you to work harder.

In this case, my jealousy has been replaced with admiration. I feel motivated to better myself.

In a previous post, I mentioned a former classmate who had been achieving success as a singer.

I look at her and see the large amount of time and effort she places into her music. She plays regular local gigs several times a month, while I on the other hand barely have any performing experience. She has a YouTube channel, her own website, and several adoring fans. Okay, if I keep going on, I might veer back into jealousy. But my point is, she has invested all of her eggs into one basket. Music is it for her.

Is it necessarily the same way for me? No, not at all.

Right now, I’m going to school and focusing on getting my degree. I volunteer at church and in the hospital, and see friends in my spare time. I’ve performed live a couple times, but that’s it. I’m not constantly searching for gigs or promoting my music online.

As I plan to continue studying in a University, music will not be at the top of my priority list. Unfortunately, music takes the backseat compared to grades and my volunteering duties. But I have made a pact to myself to play guitar everyday for at least 10 minutes. If I can just play a couple songs before I go to bed each night, I will be happy. I’m also going to look into performing at a coffee shop on campus.

Honing your skills takes time. You need experience, and it doesn’t just happen overnight! For now, I am happy to continue making slow but constant progress to making myself a better musician.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Penny For Your Thoughts?

