Tossing and Turning

This morning I woke up because I hit the wall. Literally.

When I opened my eyes, I found that my arm was trying to give a mean right hook to my bedroom wall. Needless to say, the wall won.

I tend to move a lot in my sleep. When I first drifted off to sleep I was laying on the left side of my bed. After somersaulting a couple times, I found myself on the right side of my bed colliding with the wall.

In addition to being an “active” sleeper, I used to experience bruxism or teeth grinding when I was younger.

Even though I move around a lot when I sleep, my sleep quality has never been better. Kind of ironic isn’t it?

I get about 8 hours of uninterrupted sleep every night now. I’ve made a couple different changes to my pre-bedtime ritual, and it really helps. I’ve adjusted my curtains and shades to prevent light from shining in early in the morning. I decluttered my room, and it’s more relaxing now. I turn off my phone before I go to bed, and I don’t keep a clock in my room. If I ever wake up in the middle of the night, I fall asleep easier because I’m not focusing on the time. I throw on some fuzzy pajama pants, and I actually look forward to sleeping. Before I would see sleep as unnecessary or a waste of time. I would spend time thinking about all the things I needed to do the next day. Now I simply make a to do list on my phone, shut it off, and get some shut eye.

From what I’ve read online, bruxism and moving a lot in your sleep is connected to different mental disorders. Maybe I’m a restless sleeper because I have Anxiety. Doesn’t bother me too much though, because I’ve been having restful uninterrupted sleep. Moving in my sleep has never bothered me. Can’t say the same for any person or animal that shares my bed though.

While I was thinking about how much I move in my sleep, a question popped up in my head. What does my dog do when I’m tossing and turning? Hope I haven’t kicked the poor thing in the head.

Readers, I hope that you are also able to use some of these tips to achieve better sleep. Are any of you restless sleepers? How do your partners deal with it?

This entry was posted in Anxiety and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Tossing and Turning

  1. braixetta says:

    I am a wild sleeper. One day I woke up from bed and I had given myself a black eye… Heheh…

Penny For Your Thoughts?

