Social Anxiety

I think everyone is just looking for acceptance. I’m sure that most people have experienced nervousness before a social gathering. This especially happens for people who have Anxiety.

Sometimes I get really nervous before a social gathering, or even being in unfamiliar settings with large groups of people. It’s easy to become overly self conscious, to feel like others are judging you, or that you simply won’t “fit in”.

It’s difficult to deal with because you have these ideas in your head, and unless you actively fight to get rid of them, they stay there and consume you.

But readers, I am telling you to FIGHT them.

When we allow ourselves to succumb to our fears and worries, we are limiting ourselves. We are not being open to new opportunities. We close doors and zoom past open ones. We do not allow ourselves to grow in new ways, meet new people, or experience new things. We isolate ourselves in a blanket of worry, fear, and self denial.

Who wants to stay isolated? Who wants to be alone with those horrible feelings?

I’m pretty sure no one does.

I’m going to a club meeting tonight in hopes of meeting new people and having a great time. I don’t know anyone there and I didn’t bring a friend with me. I’m scared because I’m alone, in an unfamiliar environment, and easily intimidated by the skills of others.

But I’ll be okay.

Because I’m forcing myself to go, I give myself the opportunity to feel better about myself. I can say, “YES, I did it!”. Maybe I’ll make friends, maybe I’ll have a great time. Then again, maybe I won’t. But if I don’t, it’s okay. It was worth the effort to try something new and put myself out there.

To self growth!

This entry was posted in Coping with Anxiety and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Social Anxiety

  1. regina5000 says:

    I feel exactly like that.

  2. regina5000 says:

    And also, your post was so cool.

Penny For Your Thoughts?

