Brave or Loner?

Him: “Are you here with a friend?”

Me: “No, I came by myself.”

Him: “That’s brave.”

It’s interesting how differently people can view something. The guy I was talking to had several friends at the meeting, while I was just by myself. I went by myself out of necessity, and just to experience something new. I want to meet new people and do new things, if I brought someone with me (if I had anyone to bring with me), we probably would not have branched out much.

I didn’t look at it as anything special, it was just something I had to do to achieve an end. I wanted to go to the meeting, so I went. Who cares if someone else will come with me? Isn’t that why other people are there?

That’s not to say that I wasn’t nervous before the meeting. Because I was. But I wouldn’t let the lack of a companion stop me from doing something I want to do.

Ironically, he viewed me as brave while I saw myself as somewhat of a “loner”.

Even though I went by myself, I ended up having a great time. I met a lot of cool people, and danced with some really great leads. I even saw people who I knew or recognized from last year’s classes. One of the benefits of being a second year now is that I am not only more familiar with the campus, but I also know more people. We may not be close, but I can approach someone saying, “Hey, weren’t you in my Bio class last year?”. And more than likely we can strike up a little conversation.

Overall, I’m growing even just a little bit. And I’m looking forward to branching out even more. By going to the club every week, hopefully I will get to know the regulars and make a couple more friends. That would be nice 🙂 Plus, since it is a dancing club, sometimes they go out as a group and that seems like it would be a fun evening.

Here’s to taking risks and enjoying yourself!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Brave or Loner?

  1. charlypriest says:

    Loner does not mean you are not brave.
    So university time! I miss those parties, actually I went overboard with them.

    • Pretty much what I was thinking too hahaha. Yeah… Can’t say I’ve had the same experience, but glad you had fun!

      • charlypriest says:

        Fun I had for sure, but I was there with a scholarship so when the grades went down out went the scholarship and the ship in came the ship to take me back to Spain.

        Keep the party to the normal unless you´re rich and can spend 8 years in college……that would be nice. But no advice from me, you´re smarter than I was back then…..and even now!

Penny For Your Thoughts?

