Drinking in College

Contrary to what you might believe, not everyone drinks in college.

I don’t drink. Personally, I hate the smell and don’t like the idea of not being in control of my actions or even forgetting what happened the previous night.

I have friends who also don’t drink for similar reasons. I have other friends who don’t drink for religious reasons.

If you’re like me and you don’t drink, you can make it through college alcohol free if you want to. It usually helps if your friends don’t drink, but it’s almost inevitable that you will have friends that indulge in a beverage or ten. There’s three routes you can take: avoid the parties, go to the party but decline alcohol, or even pretend to drink. Bring your own plastic cup and fill it with water or whatever you want. Take sips throughout the night and chill out. If you find it difficult to decline alcohol, you can always claim that you have to do something in the morning. If you’re off campus, you can claim to be the designated driver.

If you’re going to drink, be safe. Don’t drink and drive. Make sure you know your limit. If you drink excessively, you can lose consciousness or even die from alcohol poisoning. The best thing to do is make sure you’re drinking in a familiar environment, and you have a buddy that can watch out for you. One of my friends told me that he watches out for his drunk friends by laying them on their side. If the person is laying flat on their back, they could choke on their own throw up.

What a good friend. I don’t know how close I’d like to be to my friend’s upchuck.

So what to take from this? You don’t need to be pressured into something if you don’t want to do it. And if you happen to partake, make sure you’re being responsible.

This entry was posted in Acceptance and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Drinking in College

  1. charlypriest says:

    I knew you where smarter than me, good for you. Can I ask what is your major?

  2. samiolive says:

    I live on a “dry campus,” so avoiding alcohol isn’t really that hard. Like we all know, though, that doesn’t mean there isn’t partying and drinking that goes on behind closed doors. Pretty much every Friday night, I am serenaded by the puking of yet another person who has had one drink too many.
    Oh, the joys of thin walls and echoey pipes…
    Anyway, those disgusting noises alone are enough to keep me at bay, and I feel lucky that my friends who do drink are not prone to pressuring others to do the same.

    • That’s great! Luckily all the people I know are the same (not pressuring others). It’s nearly impossible to crack down on people drinking, people will always find a way. Thanks for reading and commenting!

  3. K. of My Angsty 20s. says:

    Great post. I didn’t try alcohol until I turned 21 and discovered I didn’t like it. You don’t need to drink in college in order to have fun as long as you surround yourself with the right people.

    • Glad you liked it! I completely agree with you. My opinion is biased of course, since I don’t drink, but I would much rather have fun with my friends and be able to remember it the day after. Thanks for reading and commenting 🙂

Penny For Your Thoughts?

