Making Lifestyle Changes

I decided that I’m not going to see my therapist anymore. I feel like I am in a good place, and frankly, a lot of the topics we talk about are things that we have already discussed. Does it feel good to vent to a third party? Of course! But do I really need it? Does my wallet really need it? I don’t think so.

This week is going to be my last session, and then I’ll let her know that I’ll call her if anything drastic happens. If I happen to have a REALLY stressful week, or something horrible happens to me, she’s only a phone call away. It’s not saying goodbye to therapy forever, it’s just putting it on a pause.

I really want to get invested in swing dancing now. I just went on a little online shopping spree (which is rare for me), and bought a dance punch card, a pair of dancing shoes, and some spandex shorts. I’m really planning to be dedicated to this, and I can’t wait to see how much I learn and improve in the upcoming months.

I’m also keeping my schooling in account however. I just made a schedule for this week to make sure I spend enough time studying. I want to go out and have fun with my friends, but there has to be a balance. I’m so happy that I can say that I do more than just study now. I think swing dancing will actually be a good motivator for getting me to study more. If I make promises to myself to only go dancing after I study for this amount of time, or finish this assignment, I feel like I will be more productive.

Thinking about all this also has me re-evaluating how I’m spending my time. Currently, I volunteer in the hospital and at my parish. The volunteer work at the hospital is crucial for my future career plans, while the volunteering at church is not. Although it gives me a good feeling to sing at church, there is no other benefit. I am volunteering my time and efforts, and there isn’t much for me to gain out of it (in a practical sense).

I think that I’m being realistic and really prioritizing my time. And I’m happy with that. I wouldn’t have been able to do that last year. When I was in the worst clutches of Anxiety, I felt like my needs or wants were much less valuable than those of others. I felt like I had to bend backwards for other people who really weren’t looking out for me. Now I know that isn’t true. Now I know what I want, and I am moving towards my goals.

Readers, are you currently making any lifestyle changes? How’s it going for you?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Making Lifestyle Changes

  1. K. of My Angsty 20s. says:

    I am making very similar lifestyle changes, too! (Although I won’t be swing dancing anytime soon…) So glad to hear things are moving forward for you!

  2. braixetta says:

    Um… My birthday is today…. Not much… I’m going to eat at Lins Chinese and sushi buffet.

Penny For Your Thoughts?

