Getting To Know You

Getting to know all about you….

Getting to like you, getting to hope you like me….

Has to be one of my favorite songs from The King and I.

Right now, me and Mr. Swing are in that “getting to know you” phase. We had lunch for the second time today.

I found out that he is not looking for a relationship. In the past four years he’s been in two serious relationships, and is looking for some time to be single.

At first when he was telling me this, I was really bummed out. I thought that it was a terrible thing.

But perhaps it’s not a bad idea to get to know him more as a person, rather than simply a romantic interest.

Don’t get me wrong! I’m still incredibly attracted to him, and finding out more things every time we hang out that make him more appealing. For instance, I found out today that he really likes to cook!

But maybe I could use some time being single too.

One thing I’m worried about is falling too hard for a guy who doesn’t want to commit to me. In getting to know each other, we will definitely be spending more time with each other. We’ve also made it obvious to each other that we believe the other person is attractive and has charming qualities. Am I just setting myself up for future heartbreak?

I’ve made it clear to him that no funny business is going to happen while he’s not committed to me. I’d like to kiss him, but not if he’s going to be kissing another girl another night.

Maybe as we spend more time together he will come to his senses and see what a catch I am. Or maybe I’ll eventually get over him!

Either way, only time will tell.

Some positive things that happened today: he thought my “sick voice” was cute and complimented my laugh. He also reassured me that past guys couldn’t be rejecting me based on my looks. After he dropped me off at my car, he asked when he was going to see me again.

From what I can tell, he seems interested. I’m hoping that he is interested enough to stick around and decide to be mine sometime.

This entry was posted in Love and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Getting To Know You

  1. Ah I say go along with it, enjoy yourself and the attention and don’t worry about labels. Although this: “I’d like to kiss him, but not if he’s going to be kissing another girl another night.” I can really appreciate!!

Penny For Your Thoughts?

