Opinions

Genetic testing is a tricky thing. If you found out that your unborn child was going to have a disease or disability, would you choose to abort?

There are arguments for both sides.

Anyone who has lived with a disability, or knows someone close to them who has had a similar problem, can attest that there are more obstacles one has to face. Depending on the severity or the type of illness this person may have, daily tasks such as getting dressed by oneself may even be an issue. There is also the issue of increased costs for hospital bills, medications, and therapy. Furthermore, there may even be feelings of stress or guilt from the parents, wondering why there child was born with a disability.

If someone is coming from this point of view, they would most likely be on board for terminating the pregnancy.

There are others who claim that despite the difficulties, there are positives to having a child with a disability. These people like to claim that their children are not handicapped, rather they are “handi-capable” because they are able to lead normal lives despite their disability. Raising a child with a disability may be more difficult, but the parents learn to keep positive days in mind.

Everyone has their own reasons for their choices, and both are valid.

Readers, do you have any experiences with this issue? I would love to hear your stories.

This entry was posted in Opinions and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Opinions

  1. knitwit84 says:

    Hello there, I’m a fellow blogger (knitted2gether) & happened upon your opinion blog. I am 30 years old. When I was 16 I had a heart transplant. In 2009, I was finally diagnosed with Mitochondrial Myopathy, typified by Cytochrome “C” Oxidase. I am physically capable of having children. This is a really tough issue with me as well as a very raw issue. I don’t believe that anyone who wants children, should ever have to make the decision to not have them because most likely they would pass along their disease. BUT, it’s the most responsible decision to make. It isn’t fair, nor is it morally right to knowingly bring a child into this world when the parent know they will be passing along a crippling disease. What about adoption or surrogate? Well, yes, those are options. Those are VERY expensive options. I’ve struggled for a long time now why it is so expensive & difficult to adopt a needed child, yet people can conceive for free and then get paid in tax credits or government programs will help if they can’t keep up with the bills. Yet there are families that would do anything to adopt, but can’t afford it. In my case, I know about my disease, so I have made the decision to not have children. If I were to become pregnant, I can’t say I would abort yes or no. I don’t think it is as concrete of a decision as that. I would take it day by day. I have my health to worry about as well. That sounds terrible, but I am hospitalized often and I take medications which are very harmful to a fetus. If I could plan a pregnancy, my medications could be changed & I could be monitored properly, but if something were to go wrong my health would have to come first. This is why I say I would take it day by day.

    Thanks for the question, it makes you think!

    Allie

    • Hi Allie. It’s nice to meet you. I wish I could give you some kind of internet handshake, but this is gonna have to do.

      Thanks for sharing your story, and for writing out such a long and thoughtful comment! I completely understand and sympathize with your situation. Your health comes first. I’m sorry to hear that you’ve been having difficulties in adopting a child, but am also awed and respect your decision to not conceive one of your own.

      Wishing you the best of health, and that someday, somehow a child will come your way.

      Thanks for checking out my blog! And hope that you are having a wonderful day 🙂

Penny For Your Thoughts?

