Songwriting

Songwriting is something that is very near and dear to my heart. Whenever I feel a certain emotion or something has happened in my life, I feel the need to write a song about it.

The different ways that songs evolve always intrigue me, but what usually happens is that I find a handful of chords that I like and write lyrics after. However, this sort of approach only works if I have my guitar on hand. Sometimes inspiration will hit me, and my guitar will be nowhere in sight. In cases like these, I will often write the lyrics and record the melody on my phone. When I do get near a guitar, I then hammer out chords and it’s interesting to see how the song changes shape from what I originally intended.

The chords I pick out may have an effect on the original melody or feel I had planned for the song. Perhaps I had envisioned the tempo to be slower, but in reality it ended up being a fast song! Maybe I wanted a folk song, but got a rock song instead. It’s funny to see how things play out.

There are often times when I write a verse or two and a chorus, and am unsure of what to say next. I know that the song isn’t finished, but whatever I was feeling in the moment has already been said in those stanzas! In times like these, I record whatever I have completed and lay it aside. I will often come back to it later when I feel like I have more to say, and it’s interesting to see how my feelings or viewpoints may have changed since I first started writing the song.

Some may argue that this is a bad thing, since the original intent or message of the song has changed, but I think of it as adding more layers. There is always more than one way to think or feel about something. Emotions are complex! Especially emotions concerning relationships and other people.

All in all, songwriting is a very dynamic thing. It allows me to communicate my thoughts and feelings to someone else in a new refreshing way.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Songwriting

  1. charlypriest says:

    Now the only thing you have to do is hang it up in a post with you singing. Isn´t there is something out there like wordcloud if I´m not mistaken, I´m not too good with this new internet world but I´m pretty sure there´s that wordcloud thing. Just sing and post it ! I´ll buy you a beer, or caffe latte

Penny For Your Thoughts?

