Goodbye 2014

And hello 2015!

Crazy to think that the year is already over. So much has happened, and I’d like to think that it has all helped me learn more and become a better person.

So what happened in 2014?

I broke up with my boyfriend of two years. I’ve since experienced a lot of personal growth. I’m focusing on myself, going on dates, learning how to be single. It’s been great. I’ve been able to realize my own hopes, dreams, and goals without worrying about it fitting on someone else’s agenda.

I performed live music in front of others for the first time. I never had confidence about performing in front of others. It was something that I always wanted to do, but in the end I would always make excuses about why I shouldn’t. I felt like it was a waste of time, that I wasn’t talented, and that my family wouldn’t be happy. The third is partially true, but I found out that my other thoughts were wrong!

I started swing dancing. I joined the club at my university and now go dancing every week. It is a constant source of joy and happiness for me. I have also met several cool people through it.

I started writing more songs. It feels so good to write more and play guitar more. Expressing myself through lyrics makes my heart happy, even if the songs are not always happy.

I started volunteering at the hospital. Volunteering at the hospital has given me practical experience for what working in a healthcare setting is like! I’ve learned that I actually really enjoy it. I enjoy taking care of people and brightening their day. I enjoy hearing their stories and being able to do the little things which truly bring them comfort.

I applied for the nursing program and didn’t get in. I’m now learning from my mistakes and re-evaluating myself. How can I improve myself for next time? How can I better my application? There’s so much room for improvement, and I can’t wait to do better next time. And I also have to face the possibility of not making it in a second time. I don’t think I would hazard applying a third time. If I don’t make it in next year, I will have to choose a different major. I could still go through a nursing program after I get my bachelor’s, but I am learning that life does not always go the way that we planned. You have to be flexible, and grateful for what you already have.

Overall, it’s been a good year.

Readers, would you agree? What do you think you have learned from 2014?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Goodbye 2014

  1. regina5000 says:

    Considering I´m on 7º grade, I haven´t learned a lot about life facts this year.

  2. gpyrois says:

    Happy New Year, I wish you much success on your journey!

Penny For Your Thoughts?

