Overwhelmed

My anxiety is making a bit of a comeback, with school starting again.

Trying so hard to keep things in perspective.

It’s easy to get carried away or feel like you have so much to do. But honestly, when you let yourself feel that way, you get nothing done. And nothing bogs you down more than feeling unsuccessful or unproductive.

Anxiety seems to attack me the most in the mornings or when I don’t have a plan.

When I don’t have a to do list or plan to achieve my goals, I feel easily overwhelmed. On the other hand, sometimes having an extended to do list also makes me feel worried. You have to find a medium.

Formulate realistic goals. Make your plans centered around small steps or goals that you are actually motivated to do. Need to do something that you don’t want to do? Make it enjoyable for yourself by creating rewards for yourself. Do the task with a friend, or watch your favorite tv show after. Make it feel like it’s worth doing.

If I’m feeling negative or anxious, I can easily say that I achieved nothing this morning.

But that’s not true!

I bought most of my textbooks and shopped around for the best deals. (I saved a little over $20 by not buying from the university bookstore).

I bought some cheap tickets to a play and made plans with my friend to go 🙂

I ran into two friends this morning walking around campus and even swing danced with one of them in the middle of the road.

I signed up for different assignment in one of my classes.

I wrote down some due dates in my agenda, trying to start the term organized!

I ate breakfast, and I’m planning on eating lunch soon.

Readers, sometimes we just need to take a step back to be able to see things a little clearer. Blogging for me is such a godsend.

Readers, what are some things that you achieved today? It doesn’t matter if it’s big or small, what’s more important is how it makes you feel better about yourself. Please share below!

This entry was posted in Anxiety and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Overwhelmed

  1. Doni says:

    I completely understand where you’re coming from, because I’ve been dealing with my own anxiety this past week. I guess today I’ve accomplished organizing my blog which is a tedious thing I’ve been putting off.

    Hope you begin to feel better and great post!

    • Hi Doni! I’m glad that this post resonated with you, and I hope your anxiety gets better as well.

      So far today I’m feeling better! I got to class and am meeting up with a friend. I always feel better when I feel like I have something to do. I have to keep myself preoccupied for a large gap later today though, so I’m hoping this good feeling stays.

      Congrats on organizing your blog! I’ve been wanting to update my welcome page for a little while now, but haven’t had the chance. Even finishing small things are great accomplishments 🙂 I find that I become unhappy when I set unrealistically high expectations for myself. When I find more happiness in what I achieve rather than feeling depressed over what I DIDN’T achieve, I feel more successful.

      Thanks for reading and commenting, hope you have a wonderful day 🙂

  2. I’m glad I’m not the only one who feels anxiety like that! It can be tough to deal with sometimes.

    I accomplished some commenting on my blog and catching up on other bloggers’ posts. I also feel accomplished in dealing with my stress today and trying not to let it get the best of me.

    • Hi Rebecca! Thanks for stopping by 🙂 and you definitely aren’t. I remember it was such a relief to read posts from other bloggers discussing their thoughts and finding out that I wasn’t alone.

      Congratulations with what you’ve accomplished! You seem to have a good mindset for dealing with anxiety.

      Thanks for reading and sharing your thoughts!

Penny For Your Thoughts?

