What Is Happiness?

Happiness is a mindset.

I can spend too much of my time bemoaning all of the things that went wrong, the things I didn’t get, the people who didn’t love me back…

But let’s face it, it doesn’t change anything!

And it only leaves me feeling soulless.

Happiness is being happy with what you have. Making lemonade out of lemons. Turning that frown upside down!

I could make you a whole bouquet of platitudes, but I think you get the point.

I think one of the biggest misunderstandings of happiness though is that happy people are like that ALL the time. Somehow, whenever you see one of these “happy people” they seem to have rainbows coming out of their asses! And you think, why are they like that? Or, doesn’t your face get tired from smiling all the time?

But, being someone with a naturally cheerful disposition, I can tell you it’s quite the opposite. Most people who know me in real life would never dream that I have Anxiety and suffer from occasional panic attacks. They look at me and think, Wow she’s so happy and friendly! She must be that way all the time. Maybe she even rides unicorns in her spare time.

As much as I’d like to say my best homie is a unicorn, I can’t claim that.

But back to the point.

I constantly struggle with self-doubt. Feeling like nobody wants me, or that no one cares. Feeling like I have no talent!

I think everyone has their own insecurities, but the thing is we get so darn good at hiding them.

So what do you do when you get plagued by negative thoughts?

Fight the bad with the good. Count your blessings. Think of something good that happened today. Envision yourself succeeding or doing well at something. Think of a memory where you triumphed and did something amazing!

Sometimes it can be hard to think of these positive things when you’re feeling down. If you’re not feeling up to it, there are other options. Personally, I always feel better when I interact with others. Text someone you haven’t seen in a while. Ask someone how their day was and ACTUALLY mean it! Vent if you need to, but don’t get stuck throwing a pity party.

Life is precious, use your time to feel good about yourself 🙂

This entry was posted in Anxiety and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Penny For Your Thoughts?

