Power Outage and Pie

When we came home, we realized the power had gone out. But we had pie in a to go box from the restaurant, so we ate pie by candle light. Sounds like a romantic night, right? Except that this happened with one of my best gal friends 😛

Yesterday I spent the day with Ms. Fox and we had a great time!

She is one of the most thoughtful people I know.

Since she knew that I’ve been feeling sick, she brought me a gift when we saw each other swing dancing! It was the sweetest thing, a jar filled with all kinds of goodies: tea bags, honey sticks, a granola bar, a lollipop, a vitamin C packet, and cough drops!

I felt like such a kind gift also deserved a nice gesture, so I had fun making her gift. She really enjoys journaling, so I bought her a journal, some multi-colored pens, and Asian candy. I put it all in a little basket and wrapped it up with a nice scarf 🙂 She really enjoyed it, so that made me happy. Another bonus, I bought everything from a “dollar store”, so I only spent $10!

We spent the entire day together, just hanging out, playing each other music, and swapping experiences. It still amazes me how much we have in common, both of us have been with boyfriends who were manipulative, clingy, and had weird fetishes.  We are also both living the “single life” and figuring out what we individually want in life. We are both embarking on that journey of self-discovery, and it feels amazing to have someone that understands.

It’s also important to surround yourself with people who treat you with the same amount of care and respect that you dish out. So often, I find myself in unfair relationships where I give more than I receive. It’s good to know that we both care about each other equally and will be there to support one another.

Although I haven’t known her for very long, I already know that she will be a friend that sticks around.

Readers, do you have any friends with whom you share a lot of the same life experiences? How does that make you feel?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Penny For Your Thoughts?

