Just Drop It

The other day, I asked my friend for advice and he gave me this analogy.

He placed a pen in my hand and told me to squeeze it. Then he told me to let it go. He did this repeatedly, while I continued to grasp and release the pen still in my hand. Then he enlightened me by saying, “Just drop the pen.”

So often, we want to let something go or move on, and we don’t realize that in this struggle we are doing the exact opposite.

Most of the time, I cause my own anxiety and stress because I believe that I just CANNOT let someone down. I always have to live up to their expectations and do things their way. But the truth is, it’s not their expectations that I’m measuring myself up to. It’s only mine.

What’s the worst thing that will happen if things don’t go exactly as planned? Will a volcano explode? Will the world end? Will this person hate me forever? (I can’t completely outlaw the first two, but I’m almost certain the third is false).

I create all of these disaster situations in my head and stress myself out… but for what? Things don’t always end up how we want them. Plans are not always smooth. But does that mean things are a complete disaster? Of course not!

Tiny reminders like this help me make it through the day.

Readers, was this helpful to you at all? Do you have any insights of your own that you would like to share?

Hope you are all doing well.

This entry was posted in Acceptance and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Just Drop It

  1. Exactly, haha! Your friend is right and taught you a simple but valuable lesson 🙂

  2. Yes, I’m very lucky to have him around 🙂

Penny For Your Thoughts?

