Changing Perspective

Anxiety and stress still affect me, but not as strongly as before.

I had a nightmare last night, and woke up in a panic.

But after thinking about it, I was able to diagnose what had been worrying me. It’s easier to feel at peace in the daylight and realize that the dream was just a side effect of some small worries. I think it’s also calming to recognize that this happens to everyone, and it’s quite natural.

In the past, I would’ve scared myself more by saying “this horrible dream was caused by my terrible Anxiety. My stress is so bad I get plagued by nightmares.”

In that kind of situation, I’m playing the victim and further enabling my Anxious behavior.

I’ve learned better since then.

I also don’t let my Anxiety get in the way of my eating habits anymore.

Last night, I came home stressed out. I didn’t feel like eating. I opened the refrigerator door just to close it again. I spent some time on the computer. I then returned to the refrigerator, warmed up some leftovers and ate them.

Before I would’ve just ignored my stomach and stomped off to bed.

For whatever reason, I used to feel some kind of satisfaction in punishing myself in that way. I’m not sure why.  It’s like I enjoyed suffering.

I’m glad to say that I’m  much better now.

Readers, have you ever had a point where you realized your perspectives and/or behaviors had changed? Was it for the better or the worse?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Changing Perspective

  1. I can completely relate to this. For the past few months, my anxiety was eating me alive. It consumed me to the point that I was a prisoner in my own body.

    I experienced the same problems with eating that you have been. I also have experienced nausea, and it became scary and I knew my health was at risk.

    Counseling has been helping with learning coping skills and how to base my thoughts on reality. It’s still a work in progress, and I have to work at it every day. But I feel like my anxiety is slowly becoming more manageable.

    That’s good you feel like your perspective is getting better. In counseling I’ve learned so far that a lot of our anxiety is caused by our thoughts. When we become aware and better manage our thoughts, we can better cope with our anxiety.

    • Hey Rebecca.
      It’s good to hear from you! Anxiety sucks, but it’s nice to know that there are others out there who experience the same things. We can all get through it together with little reminders like this and support 🙂 Therapy definitely helps. I saw my therapist the other day and she commented that I haven’t been anxious lately. It’s a really good feeling. (Of course, this happens over a long period of time, but definitely worth it!!) Will be thinking of you as you continue on your journey. You can do it! 🙂

      • I agree that it’s nice and comforting to know that we’re not alone. Support is always incredibly important. That’s great your therapist told you that. Progress, no matter how big or small, is always a step in the right direction. I’ll be seeing my counselor tomorrow, and I’m looking forward to it. The counseling has been helping a lot so far.

        Thank you for your kind words. I appreciate it. We can do it! 🙂

Penny For Your Thoughts?

