Blocks

I’m not sure when it started, but somewhere on the path to adulthood, I stopped telling my dad everything.

Now, this might be normal for most people, but it’s kind of strange for me. Me and my dad have always been close. He was always the person I would tell everything to. I have boy talks and ask for outfit advice from him, not my mom.

But this morning, when I wanted to tell him something, a little voice in my head said, “No”.

I spent some time yesterday hanging out with Wonder Boy. I wanted to tell him because I was excited about it.

But I felt like he would use the knowledge against me later, in the argument that swing is taking away time and focus from school.

I’m not sure if my parents understand that I can’t study 24 hours, 7 days a week.

Life is about more than textbooks and good grades.

Not that good grades are unimportant. I don’t go out of my way to get bad grades or make them disappointed. Contrary to popular belief, I actually want to succeed too.

I just don’t have it all together yet. And I want them to be okay with that.

I’m only 20 years old after all. And I think at this moment, I’m doing a pretty good job of being 20.

But anyways, this is one of the first times that I felt like I couldn’t share something with him. And I had to tell someone.

Readers, have there ever been “blocks” in your life that have prevented you from communicating with someone? Share them below.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Blocks

  1. I totally get this! My mum and I have gone through different phases throughout our lives of being close and not. Recently she got re-married and has completely neglected me (not that I need stacks of attention, im 20 too) and become extremely inconsistent. It’s hard to trust someone who isn’t consistent.
    I get it, sometimes I feel like I’m on completely different page to my parents.

    • Hey there! Thanks for reading and sharing your story. I completely understand. Things change as you get older, but you’re always going to be their kid and want their approval and attention. It’s different now, because it’s not like we are toddlers, but you still want them to be proud of you for the different things you do. Sorry to hear about the distance between the two of you lately, I hope it changes soon. Have a wonderful day!

Penny For Your Thoughts?

