Sting

“They’ve been dating, but nothing serious. They both understand that it isn’t going anywhere.”

I didn’t respond.

“Does that hurt you?”

Immediately, I lied, “It used to, but not anymore”.

“Good.”

The truth is, it hurts a lot. I hate feeling weak because I fell for someone and saw it going somewhere, when he didn’t. I hate that other people know about it. I hate that someone else can enjoy his company without being fooled into wanting more. I hate myself.

I hate feeling like I keep falling for people and telling them how I feel, and having it blow up in my face. I hate the fact that I’m insecure. I hate how much I want someone to feel the same way about me as I do them.

I hate how this is beginning to sound like a rant, and that I probably sound ungrateful for all of the things I do have: clothes on my back, a roof over my head, and food in my belly.

I hate the phrase “I hate”.

But this is not just about Mr. Swing. This also pertains to Wonder Boy.

I don’t like not knowing how he feels. I don’t like how much I like him, and how much I show it. On the other hand, I don’t like the fact that I sometimes act distant because I am trying to hide how I feel.

I’m a hot mess express.

I shouldn’t be afraid to wear my heart on my sleeve, but I’ve been burned enough times to know the sting.

Readers, do you know the feeling as well?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Penny For Your Thoughts?

