Dear Future Husband

Here’s some things you should know.

  1. I don’t care if you’re religious.

As long as you are honest, kind, and let me do my thing, we are good. You don’t need to be religious, but you need to be open-minded. You need to be accepting of all religious traditions, but not a follower in any.

2. If I don’t “wait” for you, you shouldn’t love me any less.

If I choose to be intimate with another man, that’s my prerogative. It’s my body, and my choice. It doesn’t mean that I love you or respect you less. Regardless of whether I wait until marriage or not, I will use reasoning and protection when the time is right for me.

3. I speak my mind, and you better get used to it.

We may not always agree, but we need to be able to discuss. Listen to my opinion and I’ll listen to yours, and maybe in the end we can be a little less polarized.

4. Things that are in the past, are in the past.

Exes, bad experiences, good ones… are all in the past and should stay that way. But if you want to talk about it, and how it has brought you to where you are today, that’s totally ok.

5. I sing and dance a lot.

You don’t need to be able to sing or dance at all. In fact, I might find your musical inability quite endearing. Just treasure me for who I am, and I will do the same. Of course, stepping out of your comfort zone and trying something new never hurts either 😉

6. I’m not going to plan my life around you.

There’s some girls who spend years fantasizing about their perfect wedding. (And that’s totally fine!) But it’s not me. I will live my life, and when I meet you, I meet you. I fully hope that you do the same, so that when we meet, you know who you are as a person.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Penny For Your Thoughts?

