Inside an Anxious Mind

Breathe in. Breathe out. Breathe in. Breathe out.

My mind wants to be busy all the time. Which incidentally, leads to nothing getting done.

I want to listen to music on my headphones to get in the zone, but I don’t have them with me. Which is another excuse my brain takes to be unproductive.

Breathe in. Breathe out. Breathe in. Breathe out.

When I’m like this, my brain wants to focus on all of the inconsequential things. My brain doesn’t want to work on the things that are necessary. It doesn’t pay attention to deadlines that are fast approaching. Instead I’m stuck in the past or the far off future, but my brain is anywhere but the present.

Breathe in. Breathe out. Breathe in. Breathe out.

Focus on my heart beating into the back of my chair. I feel it pulsing throughout my whole body. Feel the racing and the uncomfortable warmth and I’m sighing again.

Breathe in. Breathe out. Breathe in. Breathe out.

I can’t concentrate. I keep wanting to move to different locations, but I can’t find outlets and I can’t find shade and I can’t find seats…. And my brain’s making excuses again.

Breathe in. Breathe out. Breathe in. Breathe out.

I know I’m being illogical and I know that I’m not getting anything done… and time’s ticking by and my patience is wearing thin with myself.

I know. I know. I know. Don’t think I don’t know.

Breathe in. Breathe out. Breathe in. Breathe out.

Everything is going to be just fine.

This entry was posted in Anxiety and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Penny For Your Thoughts?

