Eating

Being a mindful eater can sometimes be a difficult thing. And bad eating habits can range from not eating at all to stuffing yourself two times over. For me personally, I’m a person who struggles to eat enough.

I think people usually understand why you have to cut down on your eating habits, but usually people don’t understand why someone struggles to eat. “If you’re hungry, why don’t you eat?” Seems simple enough, right?

Wrong.

Eating is strongly connected to our emotions. It is common for people experiencing the loss of a loved one to lose weight. I’m sure you’ve also indulged in a tub of ice cream and binge watched Netflix when you’ve been dumped. It seems like only when you are happy is there a balance.

When I feel anxious, I don’t feel like eating. I may be starving, but I don’t possess the will to eat. My stomach may be upset, or maybe I don’t feel comfortable in certain company, or maybe there just isn’t appetizing food.

But I’m trying really hard to change that. It’s a constant struggle, but I’m eating. I had three meals yesterday. That may sound normal to most people, but it’s a victory to me. As I’m writing this, I’m chowing down some pasta. I have to be mindful by planning out when and where I will eat during the day, but so far it’s working.

Baby steps.

I’m looking forward to a future where I won’t have to think so hard about eating, but for right now I know I’m making progress. I’ve started going to the gym and lifting weights as well. Progress is slow, and it’s hard to not get discouraged. I often loathe myself and my figure. I worry about what people think of me.

But at the end of the day, it doesn’t matter. As long as I am taking part in healthy habits, I’m doing pretty great.

This entry was posted in Acceptance, Anxiety and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Penny For Your Thoughts?

