Strength Training

According to Google, the definition of strength is: the quality or state of being strong, in particular.

But that doesn’t even begin to cover it. Someone can be strong – physically, emotionally, or mentally. Being able to do pushups, forgive someone, and handle stress all require a certain type of strength.

Lately, I feel like my life circumstances have called me to a dynamic type of strength training. Dealing with my dad’s bipolar, and life in general, has pushed me to attain a mental and emotional state of strength I didn’t have before.

I adopted the habit of meditation during finals week. Having generalized anxiety makes it difficult to calm my thoughts, but with practice, it is becoming easier.

I also started exercising more regularly. Unfortunately, since I left my parent’s house I’m not close to the gym anymore. I’ve been scouring the internet for exercise routines that do not require equipment. Surprisingly there are plenty available. I’m doing situps, crunches, squats, planks…

I’ve also developed an interest in a certain someone. Allowing myself to feel these emotions and act on them is empowering. Being open with my feelings and communicating them to someone else is terrifying. But it is also reassuring to know that if they do not reciprocate, it’s not the end of the world.

Sometimes I worry that the stress regarding my dad’s condition will spillover into other parts of my life. But so far, I am handling things with grace. I am still performing well at my job, and that has assuaged my fears.

All in all, life is good. I will emerge from these difficulties with a newfound strength. I am a warrior.

This entry was posted in Acceptance, Coping with Anxiety and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Penny For Your Thoughts?

