Pushing Limits

So you guys remember this song right? 😉

I’ve discovered lately that mental strength is most important in physical training. Even when you feel tired, if you force yourself to keep going, you usually can.

This also applies to activities like meditation. The other day I challenged myself to meditate for ten minutes while listening to the ocean. I found that my thoughts drifted several times, and I had doubts whether I could finish the ten minutes. I was tempted more than once to open my eyes and end the practice. Somehow I would save some face by choosing to end early rather than failing to meet my goal. Both ways, I would not complete the practice, but I would rather sabotage myself than be faced with potential failure.

When I realized this, I saw that I was the only person stopping myself from succeeding.

And so I pushed myself to continue. At the end of the practice I was surprised to hear the timer go off.

Although ten minutes is a short span of time, during the meditation it felt like an eternity. It is amazing how much thoughts and mindless actions control our brain. Practicing mindfulness even for a few minutes is such a struggle.

I want to become stronger. I want to push my limits. I want to overcome self-doubts and insecurities that hinder me from succeeding.

 

This entry was posted in Coping with Anxiety and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Pushing Limits

  1. smilecalm says:

    wishing you success in your healthy directions
    one gentle, calm breath at a time 🙂

Penny For Your Thoughts?

