Attention

Why do I need his attention?

I want to talk to him. I want him to notice me. I want him to miss me when I’m not around.

These aren’t bad things. But so much of my mood depends on it.

How do I remove myself from it, but also not go too far?

It’s so hard finding a middle ground. I’m either head over heels or running away in fear.

I want him to notice me. I want him to want me. I want him to crave my company.

Moments like these I need to pause and breathe.

Breathe in, breathe out. Tell yourself, “He is just a boy.”

Sure, you feel like you love him and you see a future with him. But repeat to yourself, “He is just a boy.”

It’s so unbelievably difficult, my heart just wants to rule my body. But my brain repeats, “He is just a boy.”

I can’t let what one person thinks of me dictate my worth. I shouldn’t let one person have so much control over my emotions.

I am level headed and strong and beautiful and smart.

And I don’t need a boy’s attention to validate me.

This entry was posted in Acceptance and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Penny For Your Thoughts?

